OYSHO CONTEST ENTRY

When I was six, I participated in an art contest in celebration of National Nutrition Month. I drew a boy surrounded by smiling fruits and vegetables. I won and took home a set of pop-a-point pencils. I was on cloud nine! But the truth is, I didn’t even know I was in a contest at that time; I just thought that the other kids and I were doing something enjoyable for school.

Win or lose, even without big prizes at stake, I’ve always found contests a lot of fun. So when I received the e-mail  announcing Oysho’s Pop-Up Gallery drawing competition, I didn’t need to be convinced to join.

My entry was inspired by an excerpt from Lewis Carroll’s book Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There. In Chapter 5, Alice told the Queen that “one can’t believe impossible things.” The Queen replied that Alice just didn’t have much practice. She added: “Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

And here they are, my five impossible things (during breakfast): a flying milk carton, a dancing apple, a nerdy teacup, a fitness buff teaspoon, and a hippie chic slice of bread. Put them together in one (death-defying) circus act and you get impossible thing no. 6!

So, how many impossible things did you believe today?

entry

2 thoughts on “OYSHO CONTEST ENTRY

I'd love to hear from you!

